Foreshadowing: Hiroyuki MORI, Masayoshi NOJO, CHANG Ching-Wen, YEH Jen-Kun, HSU Fan-Hsuan, Ryo SHINAGAWA, CHEN Yi Chia

Mar 5 - 26, 2022
  • “伏線 (fukusen) in Japanese kanji and 伏筆 (fubi) in Chinese characters share the same meaning: foreshadowing. I think of art history and contemporary art as a novel. Under the evolution of oriental media and contemporary art, the artists I have chosen are like a foreshadowing in the storyline, an ignition point that sparks the development of contemporary art. Choosing the character 線 (meaning “line”) is because this is something that keeps on going and not just a transient moment radiating from one single point.”__Curator YEH Jen-Kun

  • Hiroyuki MORI, Masayoshi NOJO, CHANG Ching-Wen, YEH Jen-Kun, HSU Fan-Hsuan, Ryo SHINAGAWA, CHEN Yi Chia

    The seven participating artists are between 35 and 45 of age and all of them have been working and innovating with oriental media. Some have tapped into three-dimensional composition, some have bestowed more symbolic expressions to contemporary design, while some have developed innovative ways of using metal foils (gold, silver, etc.) different from the conventional application. Their diverse range of works should unveil new possibilities for the future of oriental media. These seven artists are not only accomplished in the use of techniques such as Nihonga and ink wash, but they draw from tradition to search for artistic vocabulary corresponding to contemporary culture. By showcasing the uniqueness and differences of their creative facets, they are essentially enriching the diversity of oriental media in the contemporary art world. 

     

     

  • Hiroyuki MORI

    Hiroyuki MORI (b. 1982) was born in Fukuoka and received his MFA from the Hiroshima City University. His wrestling-themed paintings on display in this exhibition combine the “golden clouds” elements of traditional Japanese paintings as if they were cutscene animations. Just as Ukiyo-e portrays the scenery of common people’s lives, the artist brings his passion for wrestling into his creation, which can be regarded as an extension of the Japanese painting tradition. 

  • 森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI, VS, 2021

    森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI

    VS, 2021

    Tap images for more information

    Sold
  •  

     

     

     

  •  

     

     

     

  •  Tap images for more information

    森 博幸 Hiroyuki MORI, German Suplex 1, 2019
  • 森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI, VS, 2020

    森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI

    VS, 2020

    Tap images for more information

    NT$ 140,000
  •  

    The History of Asian Gouache

    Asian gouache or “glue color”, a literal translation of its Chinese name, is a type of painting where the binder for the pigments is animal glue, as opposed to vegetable oil used in oil paint and vegetable gum for watercolors. Inksticks and Chinese ink used in ink-wash paintings also use animal glue as binder. Thus, the difference between Asian gouache and ink wash lies not so much in the binder medium, but in the choice of pigments and the way they are used. It is therefore clear that using “glue color” to classify this category of painting is not as straightforward as the Chinese name suggests but is rather determined by complex historical factors. Asian gouache refers to a method of painting in which animal glue is used as the adhesive and water as the vehicle to fix pigments onto the surface of something. Having a long history, it can be widely seen across ancient Egypt, ancient Europe, ancient India and ancient China. Meanwhile, the name “glue color” was first proposed by Lin Chih-Chu in 1977 and has only been used in Taiwan for less than half a century. If we take a genealogical look at it, Lin’s “glue color painting” is actually Toyoga (Eastern painting) used in Taiwan during the Japanese occupation period, or Nihonga (Japanese painting) in Japan. Traditional East Asian painting method was introduced to Japan from China and the Korean peninsula. It was called Karae (Tang dynasty Chinese painting) in the Heian period, with contradistinction to Yamatoe (Japanese painting) depicting landscape and customs in Japan. From the Meiji period onwards, new Japanese paintings that inherited the traditional Japanese painting techniques while drawing inspirations from Western painting came to be called Nihonga (Japanese painting). The paintings in opposition to Nihonga were no longer Karae or Kanga (Han painting), but Yoga (Western painting). During the Japanese colonial period, the term Nihonga was introduced to Taiwan along with modern art education, but it was renamed Toyoga in colonies such as Korea and Taiwan. When the Nationalist government retreated to Taiwan after the war, Chinese painters who crossed the strait began debating over what’s considered “orthodox” Chinese painting. Hoping to steer clear of this controversy, Lin Chih-Chu named “glue color” after its binder medium.

     

     

  • Masayoshi NOJO

    Masayoshi NOJO (b. 1989) was born in Kanagawa Prefecture and received his MA from the Kyoto University of Art and Design. His works link contemporary visual language with the theme of “passage of time” in Japanese painting to express his personal vision of memory. Inspired by the 17th century painter Ogata Kōrin’s use of silver foil to express the passage of time, he creates mirage-like distant memories in his paintings. 

  • Tap images for more information

    能條雅由 Masayoshi NOJO, 無題 Untitled, 2021
  •  

     

     

     

  •  

     

     

  • 能條雅由 MASAYOSHI NOJO 海市蜃樓 #71 MIRAGE #71, 2021 壓克力顏料、銀箔、鋁箔/畫布 Acrylic, silver foil and aluminum foil on canvas 47 1/4 x...
    能條雅由 MASAYOSHI NOJO 海市蜃樓 #71 MIRAGE #71, 2021 壓克力顏料、銀箔、鋁箔/畫布 Acrylic, silver foil and aluminum foil on canvas 47 1/4 x...

    能條雅由 MASAYOSHI NOJO

    海市蜃樓 #71 MIRAGE #71, 2021

    壓克力顏料、銀箔、鋁箔/畫布 Acrylic, silver foil and aluminum foil on canvas

    47 1/4 x 59 1/4 in
    120 x 150.5 cm

     

    NT$ 360,000

  • CHANG Ching-Wen

    CHANG Ching-Wen (b. 1979) is now based in Tokyo, pursuing his doctoral degree in Japanese painting research at Tama Art University. Her works in this exhibition transmute the interior and exterior scenes of Tokyo buildings into a structural visual language. Doing away with the detailed illustrations of the buildings, only the straight lines of the structure are accentuated. The succinct and serene scenes are eerily reminiscent of the desolation of shutdowns due to the pandemic.

  • Tap images for more information

    張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen, 夜 Night, 2021
  • 張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen, 日常 Daily, 2019

    張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen

    日常 Daily, 2019

    Tap images for more information

    NT$ 140,000
  • 張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen, 城 Castle, 2018

    張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen

    城 Castle, 2018

    Tap images for more information

    NT$ 450,000
  •  

     

  • A brief introduction on techniques of asian gouache

  •  

     

     

     

  • YEH Jen-Kun

    YEH Jen-Kun (b. 1984) holds an MFA from the Taipei National University of the Arts. He has used ink wash and Nihonga to depict urban landscapes that break away from the traditional flat surface perspective, with concrete buildings exuding coldness and loneliness. His works on display at this exhibition are a continuation of the Star, Fireworks and Ideal Life (2020) series, as they capture the beautiful yet fleeting moments of time through the light of fireflies, fireworks of midsummer and the shooting-star-like rain. 

  •  

     

  • Tap images for more information

    葉仁焜 YEH Jen-Kun, 驟雨 V Shower V, 2021
  • 葉仁焜 YEH Jen-Kun, 雪融之際III When the Snow Melts III, 2022

    葉仁焜 YEH Jen-Kun

    雪融之際III When the Snow Melts III, 2022

    Tap images for more information

    Sold
  •  

     

     

  • HSU Fan-Hsuan

    HSU Fan Hsuan (b. 1981) is based in Nagoya and has a doctoral degree in Fine Arts from the Aichi Prefectural University of the Arts. In this exhibition, his Something else and veins series are featured. The former primarily uses white paint that is not easy to maneuver, and many narrative elements have been omitted in an attempt to achieve a visually “purified” effect.

  • Tap images for more information

    徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan, 香江Ⅱ XiangjiangⅡ, 2020
  • 徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan, 香江 I Xiangjiang I, 2020

    徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan

    香江 I Xiangjiang I, 2020

    Tap images for more information

    NT$ 252,000
  • 徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan, 綺羅星 Little Stars, 2021

    徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan

    綺羅星 Little Stars, 2021

    Tap images for more information

    Sold
  •  

    Materials and Techniques of Asian Gouache

    There are no other restrictions on the materials used in Asian gouache except that animal glue must be used as the binder medium. The support can be stone, soil wall, wood plank, hemp, silk, or paper; the pigments can be minerals, soils, metals or shells; and the dyes can derive from plants, insects or ink. The ways humans perceive and the social function of art have evolved over time. The presence or absence of materials in an area and the routes of transmission of resources, culture and technology are influenced by geographical conditions. Hence the selection and use of painting materials vary with the time and place, each with its own preferences and limitations. In the Kofun period, most of the murals in the burial chambers were stone walls. During the Nara period, the murals of Buddhist temples were mostly clay walls, while those in the Heian period were mostly wooden ones. The Buddhist and landscape paintings of the Nara period were mostly on hemp, and then largely on silk in the Heian period, whereas the extravagant and gorgeous partition or interior wall paintings of the Momoyama period were mostly painted on paper. Inheriting more than just traditional Japanese painting techniques, Nihonga also borrowed techniques from Western painting, with the aim of developing Nihonga into a genre that can compete with Yoga (Western painting). In order to achieve this goal, Nihonga adopted the scale of oil paintings to determine the size of the scene and emphasized in teaching the use of “live sketching” to rid of the disadvantages of the “copybook method”. At the same time, Nihonga considered how to be modern but different from Western. To enrich the choices of colors, aside from finding or synthesizing various natural or artificial minerals, the minerals are subdivided by particle size that give different color gradations. Influenced by Nihonga, the choice of support for Asian gouache is primarily Japanese paper capable of supporting the heavy layers of pigments. After mounting the paper on a wooden board, live sketching is done first before it is finalized for painting. In terms of the choice of pigments and techniques, the main focus is on accentuating the mineral colors and freehand brushstrokes that can bring out the pigment texture. Semi-automatic techniques commonly used in Western modern painting such as dripping, rubbing, and grinding are also incorporated.

     

     

  • Ryo SHINAGAWA

    Ryo SHINAGAWA (b. 1987) was born in Osaka and received his MFA from the Kyoto University of Art and Design. He is an emerging artist whose work has grown in reputation. His creation attempts to find a way to connect traditional oriental media with the contemporary. He uses “flowers”, a traditional painting motif, as one of his objects of experimentation with brushwork and reflection. His mixed use of acrylic paints and traditional medium proves to be an innovation of the classical.

  • Tap images for more information

    品川亮 Ryo SHINAGAWA, 白茶花 White Camellia, 2022
  • 品川亮 Ryo SHINAGAWA, 牡丹 Peony, 2022

    品川亮 Ryo SHINAGAWA

    牡丹 Peony, 2022

    Tap images for more information

    Sold
  • CHEN Yi Chia

    CHEN Yi Chia (b. 1980) has a master’s degree in fine arts from the University of Tsukuba in Japan. She mainly paints objects from her upbringing and surroundings as a way to connect with her emotions. The iron objects she depicts come from growing up in her father’s factory. The extensive use of metal foil is more than substitution for the metal components she is so familiar with, but also reveals temporality in the repeated stacking and scrubbing process.

  •  

    How to Appreciate Asian Gouache

    The appreciation of Asian gouache remains the same as that of modern paintings—an aesthetic eye for the form, color, composition, brushstroke and so on. Of course, the more knowledgeable one is about its history, materials and techniques, the more one can appreciate its meaning and purpose. Although Nihonga is period-oriented, there is no shortage of works that engage in dialogues with history, invoking both the classic form of ancient Japanese art with a strong sense of period style and inheriting painting motifs with a long historical tradition. In the former case, there is Fukinuki yatai (blown-off roof) commonly seen in Genji Monogatari Emaki (The Tale of Genji Scroll), the “Golden Clouds” of the Kano School, and the flat and decorative patterns of the Rinpa school; while in the latter case, there are motifs like the four seasons of landscape, snow, moon and flowers, autumn grass, flowers and birds, and beauties. In contrast, Asian gouache seldom invokes classic forms with a strong sense of history. Even when traditional painting motifs are chosen, they are based on what are seen in the live sketching. In terms of the materials used, oil painting involves grinding minerals to the finest participles, mixing the colors on a palette and then applying them on the canvas. Asian gouache, on the other hand, uses varying coarseness and fineness of the mineral particles to distinguish the chroma. After applying them on the support in layers, it achieves the color mixing effect through the heterogenous fineness of the particles and the varying densities. Similar to oil paintings, classical technique of Asian gouache also uses multiple thin layers of paint in expressing uncertain space. The difference: this technique captures light in oils, but air in Asian gouache. The modern technique of Asian gouache also uses impasto to express the texture of pigments as in oils. While oil impasto produces a viscous and glossy cream-like texture, the impasto of Asian gouache from applying coarse-grained minerals produces a dry sandpaper-like glittery texture. Of particular note is the use of metal foils. Their use in modern Asian gouache rarely refers to traditional religious connotations, but is rather seen as a material that changes the thickness or demarcates the spaces of a painting. The torn edges of metal foil created by tearing are also viewed as a special kind of brushstroke or texture, and are used in the shaping or composition.

     

     

    Above articles: The History of Asian Gouache, Materials and Techniques of Asian Gouache, How to Appreciate Asian Gouache, wrote by SHEN, Yu-Chang, PhD in Doctoral Program in Art Creation and Theory, The College of Visual Arts, Tainan National University of the Arts, Tainan, TAIWAN

     

     

  • Foreshadowing

    Curator: YEH Jen-Kun

    Artists: CHANG Ching Wen, CHEN Yi Chia, HSU Fan Hsuan, Hiroyuki MORI,   Masayoshi NOJO, Ryo SHINAGAWA, YEH Jen-Kun

    Date: 05 March – 26 March, 2022

    Address: ESLITE GALLERYB1, No. 88, Yanchang Rd., Xinyi Dist., Taipei City 110055, Taiwan (eslite spectrum Songyan Store)

    Opening Hours: 11:00-19:00, Tuesday – Saturday (closed on Sunday and Monday)

伏線: 森博幸、能條雅由、張靜雯、葉仁焜、徐凡軒、品川亮、陳誼嘉

Mar 5 - 26, 2022
  •  「『伏線』為日文漢字,中文常稱伏筆。我認為美術史、當代藝術像一部長篇小說,在東方媒材與當代藝術的發展中,我所挑選的藝術家像是小說劇情演變的一個伏筆,是當代藝術發展的引燃點,『線』字也有綿延不斷的寓意,並非只是一個點狀發的片段。」——策展人 葉仁焜

     

  • 森博幸、能條雅由、張靜雯、葉仁焜、徐凡軒、品川亮、陳誼嘉

    藝術家年紀介於35至45歲,持續在東方媒材領域耕耘及創新:有人帶入三度空間的構圖,有人運用當代設計更趨符號化的表現,也有人將金屬箔(金箔、銀箔等)開發出有別於傳統的運用方式等,希冀藉由作品的多元樣貌,為東方媒材的未來揭示可能的發展線索。這7位藝術家不但嫻熟於膠彩、水墨等技法運用,更從傳統當中挖掘、找尋和當代文化對應的語彙,展現創作面向的殊異,也豐富了東方媒材於當代發展的多樣性。

     

     

     

  • 森博幸

    (b.1982)生於福岡,廣島市立大學藝術學院藝術創作碩士。這次展出以摔角為主題的畫作,結合傳統日本畫的「金雲」元素,彷如是過場的動畫。正如「浮世繪」描繪庶民生活的風景,藝術家將自己熱愛的摔角帶入創作,也可視為延續日本畫的傳統。

  • 森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI, VS, 2021

    森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI

    VS, 2021
    點圖看細節
    Sold
  •  

     

     

     

  •  

     

     

     

  • 往右看更多作品|點圖看作品資訊
    森 博幸 Hiroyuki MORI, German Suplex 1, 2019
  • 森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI, VS, 2020

    森博幸 Hiroyuki MORI

    VS, 2020
    點圖看細節
    NT$ 140,000
  •  

     

    膠彩的歷史沿革

    「膠彩」就其字面義而言,是在媒材分類下的一個繪畫類型,以其媒介劑為動物膠,而別於油彩的植物油與水彩的植物膠。然而水墨所使用的墨條與墨汁,也以動物膠為媒介劑,因此膠彩與水墨的區別,就媒材而言不在媒介劑,而在顏料的選擇偏好以及使用方式。由此可知,膠彩此一以媒介劑進行分類的名稱,並非如字面所示般單純明瞭,而有著複雜的歷史因素。膠彩所指稱的繪畫方式,即以動物膠為黏著劑,以水為展色劑,將顏料固定於畫面上的做法,泛見於古埃及、古歐洲、古印度與古中國,地域廣泛,歷史悠久。然而膠彩之名,卻是林之助於1977年首倡,只通行於臺灣,至今不到半個世紀。如果我們對膠彩做一系譜學式的考察,林之助之「膠彩畫」,實即日治時期臺灣之「東洋畫」(Toyoga),日本國內則謂之為「日本畫」(Nihonga)。東亞傳統的繪畫方式,從中國大陸與朝鮮半島傳入日本後,在平安時代被稱為「唐繪」(Karae),與之相對的是描繪日本風物題材的「大和繪」(Yamatoe)。明治時代以後,則將繼承日本傳統繪畫技法,同時取法於西洋繪畫的新日本畫稱為「日本畫」,與之相對的不再是「唐繪」或「漢畫」(Kanga),而是「洋畫」(Yōga)。日本殖民時期,「日本畫」伴隨著現代美術教育傳入臺灣,但在朝鮮與臺灣等殖民地皆改稱為「東洋畫」。戰後國民政府遷臺,渡海的國畫家引發「正統國畫」之爭,林之助為避免爭議,遂以媒材為其定名。

     

     

     

  • 能條雅由

    (b.1989)生於神奈川縣,畢業於京都造形藝術大學。他的作品連結當代視覺語言與日本畫「時間流逝」的主題,表達個人對「記憶」的關注。他受到17世紀畫家尾形光琳利用銀箔表達時間流逝的手法啟發,利用銀箔在氧化過程中產生深淺變化的特性,在畫面上創造出如海市蜃樓般的遙遠記憶。

  • 往右看更多作品|點圖看作品資訊
    能條雅由 Masayoshi NOJO, 無題 Untitled, 2021
  •  

     

     

     

  •  

     

     

  • NT$ 360,000

  • 張靜雯

    (b.1979)現居東京,多摩美術大學日本畫研究博士課程在學中,這次展出的作品,  是將東京建築內外景致轉化成結構性的視覺語言,略去建築的細節描繪,僅凸顯建物本身的筆直線條,畫面清透寧靜,又令人聯想到因疫情被隔離的孤寂。

  • 往右看更多作品|點圖看作品資訊
    張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen, 夜 Night, 2021
  • 張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen, 日常 Daily, 2019

    張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen

    日常 Daily, 2019
    點圖看細節
    NT$ 140,000
  • 張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen, 城 Castle, 2018

    張靜雯 CHANG Ching Wen

    城 Castle, 2018
    點圖看細節
    NT$ 450,000
  •  

     

  • 膠彩技法介紹

  •  

     

     

     

  • 葉仁焜

    (b.1984)國立台北藝術大學美術創作碩士,過去以水墨、膠彩描繪的城市空景打破傳統平面思維,水泥建築展現清冷與孤寂。這次作品延續「星星、花火與理想生活」(2020)系列,從螢火蟲的光點、盛夏的花火和流星般的雨絲留住美好又短暫的時光片刻。

  •  

     

  • 往右看更多作品|點圖看作品資訊
    葉仁焜 YEH Jen-Kun, 驟雨 V Shower V, 2021
  • 葉仁焜 YEH Jen-Kun, 雪融之際III When the Snow Melts III, 2022

    葉仁焜 YEH Jen-Kun

    雪融之際III When the Snow Melts III, 2022
    點圖看細節
    Sold
  •  

     

     

  • 徐凡軒

    (b.1981)現居名古屋,愛知縣立藝術大學美術博士。這次展出「浮光掠影」和「紋」系列,前者以不易操作的白色顏料為基礎,畫面中捨去許多敘事元素,試圖在視覺上達到「純化」(purified)的效果。

  • 往右看更多作品|點圖看作品資訊
    徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan, 香江Ⅱ XiangjiangⅡ, 2020
  • 徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan, 香江 I Xiangjiang I, 2020

    徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan

    香江 I Xiangjiang I, 2020
    點圖看細節
    NT$ 252,000
  • 徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan, 綺羅星 Little Stars, 2021

    徐凡軒 HSU Fan Hsuan

    綺羅星 Little Stars, 2021
    點圖看細節
    Sold
  •  

    膠彩的材料與技法

     「膠彩」所使用的材料,除了須以動物膠為媒介劑外,並無其它限制。基底材可以是岩石、土壁、木板、麻、絹、紙,顏料可以是礦物、泥土、金屬、貝殼,染料則來自植物、蟲,也使用墨。然而,人類的感知方式,與藝術的社會功能,是隨歷史而變化的。一地物產之有無,與物資、文化和技術的傳播路線,則受地理條件影響。因此,繪畫材料的選擇與使用,會隨著時代與地域的不同,而各有其偏好與限制。古墳時代的墓室壁畫多為岩壁,奈良時代的佛寺壁畫多為土壁,平安時代的佛寺壁畫多為木板。奈良時代的佛畫與山水畫多用麻布,平安時代多用絹布,桃山時代豪華絢爛的巨幅障壁畫多畫在紙上。「日本畫」雖繼承日本傳統繪畫技法,卻同時取法西洋繪畫,目的是將日本畫發展成能與「洋畫」分庭抗禮的畫種。為達此目的,日本畫採用油畫的尺寸比例決定畫面尺幅,並在教學上強調以「寫生」革除「粉本主義」之弊,同時思考該如何既「現代」又與「西洋」有所差異。為了讓色彩的選擇更加豐富,除了尋找或合成各種天然或人工礦石,也按照顆粒大小細分礦物色的號數。受到「日本畫」的影響,「膠彩」在基底材的選擇上,多以能承載厚重顏料層的日本紙為主,將其裱貼固定在木板上,寫生之後定稿作畫。在顏料與技法的選擇上,則以能使顏料肌理更為突出的礦物色和自由筆觸為主,同時也吸收滴流、拓印、揉搓、打磨等西洋現代繪畫常見的半自動性技法。

     

     

  • 品川亮

    (b.1987)生於大阪,京都造型藝術大學碩士畢業,是近來知名度漸增的藝術家,其創作試圖找尋東方媒材的傳統與當代連結的路徑,透過「花卉」這項傳統繪畫的主題,作為筆觸實驗及觀點思考的對象,此外,他也會將壓克力顏料與傳統媒材並用,在古典中展現創新的力量。

  • 往右看更多作品|點圖看作品資訊
    品川亮 Ryo SHINAGAWA, 白茶花 White Camellia, 2022
  • 品川亮 Ryo SHINAGAWA, 牡丹 Peony, 2022

    品川亮 Ryo SHINAGAWA

    牡丹 Peony, 2022
    點圖看細節
    Sold
  • 陳誼嘉

    (b. 1980)日本國立筑波大學藝術專攻碩士,主要以成長和生活周遭的物件入畫,以此連結自身情感,如她描繪的鐵件便源自父親開設工廠的生長背景,大量使用的金屬箔不僅作為金屬物件的替代,在重複堆疊和洗刷過程中也展現出時間性。

    • 陳誼嘉 CHEN Yi Chia, 捉迷藏 Hide and Seek, 2021
      陳誼嘉 CHEN Yi Chia, 捉迷藏 Hide and Seek, 2021
      NT$ 240,000
      了解更多
    • 陳誼嘉 CHEN Yi Chia, 理想國 Ideal, 2021
    • 陳誼嘉 CHEN Yi Chia, 護城河 The Moat, 2022
      陳誼嘉 CHEN Yi Chia, 護城河 The Moat, 2022
      NT$ 58,000
      了解更多
  •  

    膠彩的鑑賞方式 

    「膠彩」的鑑賞方式,仍不離於現代繪畫的一般鑑賞方式,即對於造形、色彩、構圖、筆觸等形式審美能力的要求。然而,對膠彩的歷史、材料與技法的認識愈豐富,則愈能品鑑其旨趣。「日本畫」雖面向時代,不乏積極與歷史對話之作,既徵引日本古美術中時代風格強烈的經典形式,也繼承具有悠久歷史傳統的繪畫題材。前者如「物語繪」中常見的「吹拔屋台」、狩野派的「金雲」、琳派扁平與裝飾的紋樣運用手法,後者如四季山水、雪月花、秋草、花鳥、美人。相較之下,「膠彩」較少徵引歷史感強烈的經典形式,即便選擇傳統繪畫題材,也以當下寫生所見為憑。就材料的使用而言,油畫是將礦物磨至最細,在調色板上混色後再塗到畫面上。膠彩則是利用礦物顆粒的粗細區分彩度,分層塗到畫面上後,再利用顏料層間顆粒粗細差異與密度分佈不均產生的混色感達到調色效果。膠彩古典技法與油畫同樣使用多層薄塗處理不確定的空間,但油畫表現的是光,膠彩表現的是空氣。膠彩現代技法與油畫同樣使用厚塗表現顏料肌理,但是油畫厚塗產生的是如膏脂般黏滯稠亮的質地,膠彩的粗顆粒礦物厚塗後產生的卻是如砂紙般乾霧晶亮的質地。特別值得一提的是金屬箔。現代膠彩使用金屬箔時很少指涉古典宗教意涵,而是將之視為改變畫面厚度,或區分畫面空間的材質。撕裂金屬箔產生的破碎邊緣,也被視為某種特殊的筆觸或肌理,並運用在造形或畫面的構成。

     

     

     

    膠彩的歷史沿革|膠彩的材料與技法膠彩的鑑賞方式
    撰文 沈裕昌
    國立臺南藝術大學藝術創作理論研究所博士
    現任國立臺南藝術大學造形藝術研究所、建築藝術研究所、東海大學美術系所兼任助理教授
    研究領域為美學、藝術哲學、藝術思想史、藝術評論

     

     

     

  • 伏     線

    策     展      人:葉仁焜

    參展藝術家:森博幸、能條雅由、張靜雯、葉仁焜、徐凡軒、品川亮、陳誼嘉

    展                 期:2022年03月05日—03月26日

    地                 點:誠品畫廊|台灣110台北市信義區菸廠路88號B1(誠品生活松菸店)

    開  放  時  間:週二 至週六 11:00 - 19:00(日、一休館)